Site icon Future Skill

The International Organization for Standardization

International Organization for Standardization


An independent worldwide organization called ISO, or the International Organization for Standardization, develops and distributes standards that promote the efficiency, security, and quality of products, services, and infrastructure. ISO standards are recognized and acknowledged worldwide, providing a common vocabulary and framework for companies operating in a variety of industries.


This is a non-governmental organization that develops and publishes international standards for a wide range of products, services, and processes. The organization’s name is derived from the Greek word “isos,” meaning “equal.”

Importance of ISO Certification

  • Credibility: An organization’s ISO certification increases its credibility by demonstrating to stakeholders and customers that it upholds globally accepted quality standards.


  • Market Access: By proving adherence to international standards and promoting cross-border cooperation and trade, ISO certification provides access to new markets.


  • Operational Efficiency: By offering a methodical approach to procedures, ISO standards enhance operational effectiveness and lower error rates.

List of ISO standards:

Frequenctly Asked Questions:

They are an assortment of globally accepted guidelines that specify the best practices for a range of tasks. They address a multitude of issues, such as information security (ISO 27001), environmental management (ISO 1401), and quality management (ISO 9001).

ISO establishes a standard for goods, services, and procedures, which can enhance effectiveness, dependability, and security. They also show a business's dedication to best practices, which can win over their clients' trust and confidence.

There are over 20,000 published ISO standards, covering a wide range of industries and topics.

It is the official acknowledgement that a business's management system satisfies a certain globally recognised ISO standard. Independent certification organizations are accountable for conducting certification.

No, obtaining ISO certification isn't mandatory, but it can be a helpful instrument for businesses to demonstrate their commitment to quality and other crucial areas.

A specific area is the focus of each standard, such as information security (ISO 27001), environmental management (ISO 14001), or quality management (ISO 9001). Although they have certain shared characteristics, they also have specific requirements that are unique to their sectors.

International standards ensure that the products and services you use daily are safereliable, and of high quality. They also guide businesses in adopting sustainable and ethical practices, helping to create a future where your purchases not only perform excellently but also safeguard our planet. In essence, standards seamlessly blend quality with conscience, enhancing your everyday experiences and choices.

Exit mobile version